Reply To: Kemet 101-Lesson 7 Discussion Forum

Alixa Villalobos

A) Themes discussed:

-In today’s lesson we’re expanding on the Sema Philosophy, which we had already started to practice in previous classes, by using the breathing techniques, relaxing and allowing our consciousness to be expanded by the knowledge received in class and by allowing this knowledge to permeate our beings, and to be used in our daily life for the purpose of growing as human beings.

– African Philosophies, 3 different philosophies:
a.) Maat
b.) Sedu
c.) Sema Tawi

-Definition of Sema, which is the synonym of Yoga. Sema is the vehicle that allows us to practice the ancient African religion of Shetaut Neter, in the same way that yoga allows the practice of the Hindu religion, from India.

-Tawi means two Lands, upper and lower Egypt. In representation of the Higher and Lower selves of every person. Sema Tawi means the unification of the two lands of Egypt, meaning the unification of the lower and the higher selves of a person. It refers to a person achieving enlightment.

-Yoga is a tool to be used in order to intervene the personality and grow in consciousness.

-Kemetian culture used ritualistic colors to represent men and women on their depictions. Red was used for males in general, as a representation of architectural and religious elements. White and Yellow were used for women depending on the intention of the depiction, whether secular (white) or religious (yellow).

-History and timeline of term Yoga
-In 1,500 B.C., in the Vedic period, Yoga meant to unite. To put two things together.
– In the Upanishadic period, after 1,000 B.C.E (800 to 600 B.C.E), the term yoga took on a mystical meaning. Signifying the union of the lower and the higher selves.

-African yoga predates Hindu Yoga. The term Sema existed in ancient Egypt for thousands of years prior to the term yoga existed in Ancient India.

-Basic principles of Yogic culture:
a.) Yoga of Wisdom
b.) Yoga of Devotional Love
c.) Yoga of Meditation
d.) Yoga of Selfless Actions

-Encompassing all the yoga disciplines listed above, there’s the Tantric Philosophy and the Serpent Power Yoga or Kundalini Yoga, they are part of the Tantric Yoga.

-The 4 great Neterian Truths manifest in all of the Shetaut Neter traditions, throughout all the Ancient Egyptian periods. These are:
1.) The Supreme being is One and manifests as an all-encompassing divinity. It manifests in all Gods and Goddesses.
2.) Lack of Righteousness brings fetters to the personality. Brings ignorance of the Divine to the personality.
3.) Devotion to the Divine sets people free from ignorance of the divine and egoism. Leads to freedom.
4.) The practice of Shedy disciplines, which are Sema disciplines, causes the person to know him/herself.

-These great truths are pursued through four different disciplines, in three steps:
1.) Sedjm Shedy – 1st step, Myth
2.) Arit Shedy – 2nd step, Ritual
3.) Udjet Shedy – 3rd Step, Mysticism
4.) Ua Shedy – 3rd Step, Mysticism

-The four Great Truths relate to the four Shedy Disciplines:
1.) Listening to the teachings of different traditions – 1st Shady, Myth
2.) Right Action, acting with righteousness allows the person to be free from the fetters of Seth. Follow the teachings in daily life. – 2nd Shedy, Rituals.
3.) Devotion, Devotion to the Divine, Yogic postures/movements. Divine offerings and Peace offerings, bring Divine Peace. 3rd Shedy, Mysticism
4.) Meditation and practice on the Divine, the person is able to transcend to a plane where he/she can commune with the gods and goddesses, ultimately becoming One with the supreme being and transcending the time and space reality. There are four different types of Meditation:
4.1) Arat Sekhem: Meditation on the subtle Life Force.
4.2) Ari Sma Maat: Meditation on the Rightious Action
4.3) Nuk Pu Ushet: Meditation on the I am
4.4) Nuk Ra Akhu: Meditation on the Glorious Light.
4.5) Rekh Maa: Meditation on Wisdom Teachings.

-Pharaoh Seti I as sage, king and philosopher, and as the pharaoh that introduced the first formal practice of meditation. The instruction, in hieroglyph texts, for the Glorious Light Meditation is engraved in the tomb of Seti I. These teaching date back to the year 1,350 B.C.E and predate India and China’s formal meditation practices, which were developed at a later time.

-Yoga, as known and practiced in the US, relates only to the physical movements, not to the meditation or mystical philosophy. Most westerners are not interested in understanding the teachings of Indian Yoga, that allows the person to embody his/her Divine side.

B) The most Important Theme:

The existence of five different modalities of meditation, all of them contained within the Shedy disciplines is to me the most important. Because by focusing on practicing just one modality of meditation, the person is able to expand on the rest of the modalities, and what that means, is that every person can follow a type of modality of meditation that he or she feels more comfortable with and be able to delve into the mystical side of the Ancient African religion, The Shedy discipline.