Reply To: Kemet 101-Lesson 9 Discussion Forum

L. G. Lopez

Lesson 9 Intro into Shetaut Neter

Neterianism – The spiritual system and philosophy of the Ancient Africans
Earliest known advanced practice of religion in human history, evidence shows it existed as early as 10,000 BC.
Later religions got their teachings from their association with Kemetic culture.
This is an Kemetic African religion, not a cult, not a new – age practice, not a church, not a masonic order.
Sema Institute is the educational branch and the Temple of Shetaut Neter Aset is the religious branch.

Timeline – The year 0 starts the common era. Before the common era and after the common era refers to the birth of Jesus and after the birth of Jesus.
Before the common era we can go back 10,000 to find the earliest remaining monuments of Kemet.
3500 – Indus Valley culture starts to develop, then pre-Judaic, pre-Islamic Arab, etc.
These religions are actually related to ancient Kemet. Mohammed and followers set out to stop the pre- Islamic religions. This happened with Christians.
The Christian symbol of the Cross is based off of the Kemetic symbol of the Ahkh.
The Aryan, Hindu, Minoan, Judaism cultures arrive around 550 BC.
Buddhism, Taoism, classical Greek culture, Christianity arrives 100 – 200 years after year 0, which leads to today’s common era.

Shetaut Neter is the original point of origin for most of the world’s religions.
From Shetaut Neter comes the systems of the Dogon, Yoruba, Buddhism, Hinduism, Christianity and Islam which was preceded by Judaism.
Documented proof is in the book African Origins by Muata Ashby.

The Dogan people are direct descendants of Ancient Egyptians that migrated from N.E. Africa to W. Africa and Mali.
Yoruba have the Orisha system and an ancestral relationship to Ancient Kemet.
Buddhism – There was a colony of Buddhists living in Ancient Egypt.
Hindus, Nubians, Egyptians and Indians were seen as the same people by historians such as Heronimus and others. There are many correlations between original Christianity and the Ancient Kemet Asarian tradition.
The concepts of resurrection, the persecuted child by the ruler, the eucharist, the good shepherd originate in Kemet. In Judaism the Bible tells of Moses and the exodus, Islam is based off of Judaism. There are many changes to these religions but they are all based off of the Kemetic religion.

Ancient Africans of Nubian and Egyptian descent were similar looking, in that both were all shades of black to brown. The new kingdom Nubians wore a feather in their hair and wore bowl-shaped haircut styles, Egyptians wore longer hairstyles.

The word Neterianism comes from the words Shetaut Neter.
The god Khepra/Khepri is the founder of Neterianism. His symbol is the scarab beetle.
Khepra/Khepri came into existence pushing the sun disc boat out of the primordial oceans, creating the waves or vibrations that made creation – the universe, the gods and goddesses, human beings. He taught the philosophy called Shetaut Neter to the god Djehuti, who taught the goddess Het-Heru. Khepra/Khepri told the teachings to Asar and Aset and told them to come down to the Earth to teach human beings this philosophy as well as how to farm and to show them civilization.
Khepra/Khepri gave the teachings, Djehuti wrote down the teachings, Asar created the worship system by showing the people how to do divine worship of the gods and goddesses. Aset taught the people the divine philosophy or the mysteries of the teachings.
Heru is the son of Asar and Aset. Heru is the embodiment of the soul joined with the wisdom. When this happens in a human being they become royalty or the ruler of Egypt (Egypt being the entire world). Shetaut means secret. Neter means Divinity. Shetaut Neter in full means the teaching about the secret, hidden Supreme Being.

Who are the Netarians?
Neterians are those who follow the teachings of Shetaut Neter. Shemsu Neter means “follower of Neter” or a person who follows the teachings of Shetaut Neter. A follower means someone eho acts like the Divine. Acts, talks, thinks, feels – to emulate the Divine. Neter is the origin of all creation. The Supreme Divinity brought all the other Divinities into being.
Neterianism is not idolatry or polytheism. It is a system originating in Africa and also used by Hindus and Native Americans. It is a way of understanding Divinity in the form of cosmic powers. Air and water are cosmic powers. All life is composed of cosmic powers that emanate from the Divine Sun. Worshipping the Divine or the aspects of the Divine or the manifestations of the Divine is what Shetaut Neter teaches.
this is to lead us back to the understanding of the Supreme, Primordial Being.
Divinities can manifest as anthropormorphic or zoomorphic iconagraphy. Anthropormorphic means to look like human beings. Zoomorphic means to look like animal beings.

Three stages of religion: The three stages must be practiced in full in order to have a complete practice and understanding of the religion.
Myth: Matnu – legend, story, myth
Ritual: Aru – ceremony, ritual
Mystical: The myth is given through story-telling
Sdjedt – is the story-telling — to speak proverbs, to speak tales
Shemsu – followers of a religion learn about it’s story
Without all three levels there will be conflict, intolerance, ignorance, de-evolution of spirituality. Mysticism allows one to know and live in joy and peace with one another. All are One with the Divine.

in the Asarian resurrection myth, the stages are to 1. learn the myth (from story-telling) 2. practice the myth (ritual) 3. discover the truth of the myth (mysticism).
In the Asarian tradition you learn that you yourself are the one that is disintegrated by Set (egoism), you yourself will be resurrected by Aset (wisdom of Divine order and truth), and you will be reborn as Heru (enlightened).
myth is not supposed to be a strictly historical documentation of a cultural or religious story. It uses allegory to show that the teachings were relevant in the past, they are relevant in the present and they are relevant for the future.

The philosophy of complementary opposites:
The Lotus and the Papyrus are the two plants of upper and lower Egypt. Heru and Set represent the higher and lower selves. In the reliefs they are shown tying the knot of the two plants around a symbol of the trachea which leads to the lungs – to represent the union of the higher and the lower selves.
Neterti – the two eyes of Ra or the Sun and the Moon

Basic daily observances of the Shemsu:
Ra Neb – Daily worship three times a day, done at Dawn – Noon – Dusk
Bathe, light a candle, light incense, recite the 4 Great Truths, chant daily Hekau, study the scriptures, meditate, give an offering (food and water)

Items needed for worship:
Scroll with the Great Truths
Ankh amulet or approved Divinity
Image, candle, incense, prayer mat or blanket

Maat – A goddess and a philosophy that every aspirant must learn, practice and master in order to progress on the spiritual path. Maat is intertwined in all traditions.

Shedy disciplines summary
Four disciplines to practice —
1. Aset – represents wisdom and intuitional realization of Truth. Three steps of practice are listening to the teaching, reflecting on the teaching, and meditating on the teaching.
2. Maat – Learing to act like God and be of ethical culture in order to become balanced and one with the universe.
3. Devotion – Ritual of purification, two elements are wisdom and devotion. seeking the Divine is to seek what is beautiful
4. Meditation – uses postures to focus the mind, uses words of power (chants), uses visualization

It is also important to have purity of the body in order to purify the mind.

The Great Awakening (Nehast) is the goal of all spiritual practices. You want to resurrect now in order to become enlightened.

This was very thorough and informative – I have no questions at the moment.