Reply To: Level 1 Audio Discussion Forum #2

KEMET UNIVERSITY HOME Forums Egyptian Mysteries Level 1 Level 1 Audio Discussion Forum #2 Reply To: Level 1 Audio Discussion Forum #2

Participant

Addendum to Post #20508 Lesson 13 Audio Assignment “On being a Successful Student”

I would like to write an addendum to my recent post #20508 in which I tried to explain the reasons why I do not feel I have been a successful student based mostly on the inconsistency with which I have submitted my assignments. While I believe that many of the reasons I offered were valid, namely, me not being able to balance my engagement with the teachings with my career obligations and that my career served to reinforce my egoistic inclinations even though thinking that it promotes Maat Ari, my concern however, has to do with the overall tone of my presentation, a tone which while reflecting a certain level of humility borders on humiliation and even self-condemnation and self-contempt. This is a theme which Seba Dja has been addressing in her recent discussions in which she suggests that such feelings of self-doubt and self-derogation has to do with the workings of the ego which takes control of the personality and in doing so, overshadows one’s divine essence leading to a mind that is dull and agitated. How then does one address and overcome such deluded state of mind so that one move towards lucidity and reestablish one’s equanimity and spiritual groundedness?